top of page

25 Years of Mya

The Rap Hotline recently got invited by the Universal Music Group organization, 1824, to attend a press conference celebrating R&B Legend and Grammy Award Winning artist Mya’s big milestone, which is celebrating 25 years of being in the music industry.


She debuted in 1998 with her debut self-titled studio album Mya. Throughout her luxurious and outstanding 25 years in the music business, she set the tone of birthing new sounds and style in the R&B genre while entering the new millennium.


She gave some insight on what kept her going for 25 years while also getting her flowers for being a legendary artist that she is.


“I would say find your team. That sort of takes practice and experimentation. Reaching out to certain producers, unless you’re one yourself and developing an actual sound for yourself. When I first started, I was with a production camp that I was signed to. There was a sense of family, we went through trial and error, and cut several songs trying to figure out where my magic tone was and that magic tone would be something that would grab people. It was an experimentation process and I had a camp of producers. Darryl Pearson being the main producer and Dru Hill being the main songwriters. We all played instruments and we all understood harmony. ”


She also recalled the music she wrote when she first started saying “when I was recording my first album I was writing about the things and the topics that young girls my age (17) could relate to. It was a playground where I could be free to discuss ideas and what you might be going through, witness, or your friends might be experiencing at that age.”


“It will work. You find it when you find it and you know it when you find it,” is the true token of wisdom she wants to leave new artist with.



0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page