top of page

Big Boss Vette: The Biggest Boss That You’ve Seen Thus Far

Webster Dictionary defines the word ‘Resilience’ as an ability to recover from or adjust easily misfortune or change. Whenever you listen to St.Louis artist, Big Boss Vette's new EP ‘RESILIENCE’, that is what she is showcasing on the microphone. 


After suffering a minor setback in 2016, when she was shot in a fight, Big Boss Vette showed resiliency. From viral rap covers to having one of the best songs out now, ‘Pretty Girls Walk’ and ‘Snacthe’’  on TikTok taking the social media world by storm. With 1 million streams on Tiktok and celebrities like Selena Gomez, Madonna, and Kylie Jenner cosigning the popularity by using them, Vette simply cannot lose. Webster should update the dictionary and put a picture of Big Boss Vette right next to the word resilience. 


If you look closely at the cover of her EP ‘RESILIENCE’, you’ll see handwritten motivational messages that were written by Big Boss Vette to herself during a dark time for her. It was to make her feel empowered and set a reminder for herself on who she is and what she is capable of doing. Now that she is reaping her blessings and moving up in the rap game, those self-affirmations have worked out well for her. 


When talking about her love for rap she recalled a promoter of her city reaching out for an opportunity to open for NBA Youngboy and at that point she noticed the city was going crazy about him coming. She then realized that ‘this gone be big’ and she would only realize later that she was right.


“ I did not know who knew my songs or none of that. So, when I got on that stage and I started singing, but they started singing with me, they were overpowering my music. I was like, ‘Y’all like me!’ It was literally up from there and that was when I was like ‘I’m supposed to be a rapper.’”

She expressed her excitement about the future of female rap and the collabs she wants to do. Whether it’s Cardi B or City Girls, she is open to collaborating with no hesitation. With a growing fanbase in which she refers to as “cousins”, Big Boss Vette aims to continue to take care of her cousins for a long time. 


“It feels amazing that people from my city know my name. You can’t mention me and someone will be like ‘Who is that? Oh yeah that’s our cousin!’” she commented about her fan base. 


Big Boss Vette had the opportunity to work with fellow St.Louis native producer Metro Boomin. She was featured on Metro Boomin’s Across The Spider-Verse album in I Can’t Stop. Having the chance to work with someone from your city is a special moment and she wanted to make sure she made the song just as special.


“My label called me and was like, ‘Hey, want to get on the soundtrack?’ and I was like, ‘DO I? YES.’ When they sent the beat out I was like, ‘Oh this is different, I’m scared!’ but then I was like ‘Let’s go, I can do this.’ I went to the studio and I think I cut that same night. I sent it in and we were just crossing our fingers hoping they picked it up and they picked it up. It was amazing.’’

You can stream Big Boss Vette’s  EP ‘’RESILIENCE’’ right now on Apple Music down below!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

25 Years of Mya

As R&B Legend, Mya, celebrates 25 years in the music industry, she shares some gems on how she prospered for 25 years.

Comentarios


bottom of page