top of page

Leon Thomas: R&B Like Never Before

Last week, The Rap Hotline got invited to attend a press conference by Motown Records and 1824, which is a part of Universal Music Group. The conference featured R&B and Grammy Award Winning artist, Leon Thomas, to talk about his debut album, Electric Dusk, ahead of the album release date. The hype on social media over Electric Dusk is intense; fans were even demanding that the album be released before the actual date.


Already having music experience since he was a child, Leon is determined on what he can bring to the R&B genre with his own innovative sound and inspiration behind his debut album. When you listen to his singles from Electric Dusk like ‘Crash and Burn’, ‘Breaking Point’, and ‘Love Jones’, then you will understand why he is primed to take R&B to the next level. These singles alone show the complexity of a hardworking and talented musician. With the diverse range Thomas has to offer for his fans as a R&B singer and songwriter it is evident that he has much more to show.


In the past, Leon has worked on music with artists like SZA, Drake, Toni Braxton, and R&B Legend, Babyface creating the music we all know and love today. His credits are endless, having Babyface in your corner while creating music for Rap or R&B can do wonders for Leon’s musical career.


I think I spent more time with Babyface on a personal level, so I got more gems from him. With him I was putting pressure on myself to be the ‘best I can be in R&B.’ His whole thing was being honest and being your best, he felt like everything else will come from there. He was also talking about the factor of cool. He always thought I was always such a cool kid. The way that I move through life and even just operate as a human being. He said he always wanted me to find ways to implement that within my music and I definitely took that advice for Electric Dusk.

The highly anticipated album Electric Dusk is available to stream on all streaming platforms right now!

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page